Posted on

A month on from therapy

So, it’s been a month since I was discharged from therapy. It’s been a strange month, I’ve had some ups and downs. As I look to the future, I realise that there is only one thing that is on my mind. The urge to help others and to show them that recovery is possible. 

At the beginning of this journey, I felt that I was called to help others. This calling is getting stronger, I can see myself being an advocate for male survivors. A beacon of hope. Seven years ago I believed that I was being called to the priesthood. Obviously, this wasn’t going to happen. 

I realise that my talents are needed elsewhere. This last month has been a watershed in my life. A second chance at living and serving others. It is by opening my heart and mind to different possibilities, that I have started to find an inner peace and a spark of inspiration. Yes, I’ve got a long journey ahead but I am prepared for the ups and downs. 

Leave a Reply

