Posted on

Living with a mental illness

Since 2010 I’ve lived with chronic depression. I have to admit at first I denied that I had any problem. It took three months to realise that I had any issues.
The problem with a mental illness, you can put on masks to cover the cracks.

The biggest issue is other peoples reactions and perceptions. Some people never see the the person inside. They only see a label. You mention mental illness and the see someone in a loony bin or a danger.

I have had to deal with all of this. But I realised that I’m the one who has to live with it, day in and day out. I’m pretty normal. I work, I’ve got hobbies and I’ve got friends.

Some know that I’m dealing with mental illness. They’re supportive and caring. As for the rest they are just people who don’t understand.

Sometimes, the day to day task can be so hard. Even getting out of bed can be exhausting. Sometimes I wish that I could go back and put all of this back in its box.

But, that was killing me. It took away who I am. I still suffer from depression but for the most part I am living with it. It is part of who I am.

It’s not easy living with mental illness but it’s possible.

To those who mock. It may happen to you one day. If it does I’ll be there to listen.

Leave a Reply

