Posted on

A taboo

There is still a lot of people who believe that boys don’t get abused. It’s a though boys should be strong and keep the secret.

With 1 in 6 boys abused by the age of 18. It’s time that we lifted this taboo. It took me 25 years to disclose. How many more boys have to live a lie. It’s time that the world listened to the amazing male survivors of CSA.

Society, believes that men don’t cry. Society is wrong. Brave men and boys are living in fear of sad and sick people. The subject of sexual abuse is almost always relating to girls.

When I disclosed I thought no one would believe me. It turned my life upside down. But, it gave me a second chance to live. I found some people who believed me.

Now I’m in a position to fight for all the boys and men who have been through this.

Part of my healing has been down to my faith. It has strengthened me when I’ve been low. It has shown me that there is life after abuse. Because of my faith I’ve found, I have a gift for using words to heal.

One response to “A taboo

  1. Cristina

    We done. A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Leave a Reply

