Posted on

School days

The effect the abuse had on my schooling was profound. It took away my self belief and robbed me of my dreams.
I used to just look out of the windows wishing my life away. I spent four years living in a dream world. A world that I wished I was invisible. The teachers never once asked what was wrong, they never noticed that I was struggling.

In the 1980’s no questions were asked. I felt I was just left to rot. The worse thing was I isolated myself from family and friends. I left this world of pain and shame to live in a fantasy. A fantasy where I was safe. Where no one could hurt me.

Over my final school years, I drifted deeper in to an abyss of my own making. I tried to find any excuse not to go to school. I regret so much of this now. Do I blame the school. No, they weren’t to know that I was in such a bad place.

I believe the biggest impact was that I retreated in to my own world of which it took me 25 years to find my way out.

One response to “School days

  1. Hi Ed! My name is Cameron and I was wondering if you’d be willing to answer a quick question I have about your blog. You can reach me at cvonstjames AT gmail DOT com – Thank you so much, I hope you’re having an awesome day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

