Posted on

Why I speak out

I’ve been given a gift. My gift is the gift of words. Being able to put in to writing my feelings. When I first disclosed I didn’t know that I had this gift.

Over the last few years I’ve found that I can change the way others think about survivors of abuse. To humanise the image from victims to survivor and ultimately thriving.

Through all the ups and downs and pain I’ve had my writing. Someone told me how brave I was and that I’m an inspiration. If you’d have told me this before I disclosed I would have laughed. Maybe now I can inspire others to find their gifts.

The reason I speak out is that there are thousands of survivors living in silence and maybe I can be their voice, until they find their own voices.

Leave a Reply

