Posted on

Being a proud survivor

For the first time I am proud to be a survivor. I’m not proud of what happened but I now know that I’m not alone.

Spending time on Saturday with other survivors has given me a strong sense of identity. Not just Ed the victim but Ed the talented awesome human being.

I know that the wonderful people I met last Saturday are some of the bravest people I have ever met. Not the strongest, with smiles and laughter all day. Left me with loads of wonderful memories. Of seeing a parakeet and the geese and ducks.

I feel so honoured to have been able to spend time with them. These memories have started to erase some of my pain.

Pain that the others have to face as well. Pain that we share but mainly the joy on our faces.

I sometime wished that I could hide this part of my life.

But why should I. I am a survivor and a thriver. Living life to the full now.

Leave a Reply

