Posted on

Living with depression

For the last few years I’ve been living with depression. Depression brought on by the trauma of being sexually abused as a teenager.

For almost twenty five years I pushed this down inside. It poisoned me to the point where I could not bear to be touched by anyone. Even family.

Since disclosing I’ve struggled against depression. A daily struggle I have to live with. Every day is different. I don’t know how I’m going to feel from one day to the next. Some days even getting out of bed is difficult. I work full time in a stressful environment which I seem to thrive in.

It sometimes feels like it’s never ending and I’m living in a fog. A fog that is thick and choking.

Believe it or not I’m greatful that I’m facing this challenge, a challenge that can only help me heal better.

It ain’t fun but it’s part of who I am.

Leave a Reply

