Posted on

1 in 6

1 in 6. That is the ratio of boy who are abused. In the 21st century this is one too many. Why do we not believe a boy or man when they disclose. I think it’s the stereotype of the strong man. Boys who are abused have the right to share their story and to heal.

In 2013 we should be encouraging men and boys to come forward and to be given the help we deserve. We need society to change and accept these brave men and to help them. When I disclosed in 2010 I felt so alone, I felt isolated but when my family accepted what happened without question it gave me confidence to share and start the healing process.

I am now on the road to healing. I am one of the 1 in 6.

So next time you’re in a pub or on a train just look around and think is the one of the 1 in 6 here.

2 responses to “1 in 6

  1. Nice one – computor won’t let me ‘like’ it – but I do

Leave a Reply

