Posted on

Doing the right thing

Some people have said to me, why are you writing this blog?

There isn’t a simple answer. Rather many answers. One question I asked myself. Am I doing the right thing.

At first I have to be honest I used this as a place to rant and get a lot of crap off my chest. I wrote some things I’m not proud of. But those thoughts were where I was at. I believe that I have done the right thing. By telling my truth I have given myself a voice. A voice that for so long was silenced, silenced by an act that no one should have to deal with.

The reason I write is in a way to show the Whole world that being healed isn’t the end of the story. I have come to realise that my healing has come thanks to very good friends who have put up with a petulant teenager who is going on 40. Friends who have seen me in tears and on the verge of harming myself. I thank these friends. They are to numerous to mention by name. You know who you are.

Also the prayers people have offered for me( and continue to do so. I hope). Also the faith shown by others who can see beyond the abuse and see the real Ed. When I can’t see beyond the end of my own nose.

Even now I’ve started out on my own I know there are friends who care about me.

Now my blog is starting to help other survivors and giving hope to others. This is really humbling as I never thought in a million years that I could do this.

Am I doing the right thing. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

