Posted on

A letter

The one thing that I’m most proud of is that I was able to write to my abuser. I never sent it. I wrote it in January 2011. I kept it and read it at time when I needed to tell myself it was no longer happening.

Last July I went through my journal during an afternoon of reflection I found it tucked in the back of my journal. This really upset me to see what i had written.

A couple of weeks later I made the decision to burn it. even then it took me a week to do it.

I did one July evening I just stood where i usually have a smoke. I rolled up the letter, lit my lighter and i burned the letter.

The gist of the letter was asking just one question. Why did you do this to me and take away my innocence? This is a question that has been on my mind fro 27 years. I know that I my never know the truth. But I’ve asked the question. Maybe in time I’ll have the answer myself.

Leave a Reply

